Texas Tech University Faculty Senate

Organization

Section 1. The Faculty Senate is composed of senators representing the voting faculty of Texas Tech University. The voting faculty consists of all persons under full-time contract who have completed a residence of one year at this University and who are tenured or, in the case of librarians and archivists, are on continuing appointment or who hold appointments that make them eligible for tenure or continuing appointment.

Section 2. The voting faculty of each college and school, and the librarians and archivists of the University Library and the Southwest Collection excluding the Graduate School, elect one senator for each twenty voting faculty members or fraction thereof but not fewer than two senators. The voting faculty of the University elects nine additional senators atlarge. The senate is currently comprised of 61 Senators.

Responsibilities

Section 1. The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the faculty and serves as an advisory body to the President of the University and may consider all matters of university concern.

Section 2. Any member of the University community may bring a matter of university concern to the attention of the Senate.

Section 3. The Senate may make recommendations to the President of the University concerning the academic functions of the University, academic freedom and other matters pertaining to the welfare of the University, particularly those of special interest to the faculty.

2006/2007 Officers

President: James H. Smith, Agricultural Educ & Comm, Phone 742-2816 ext 234

Vice President: Shane Blue, Human Sciences, Phone 742-3068

Secretary: Christine Alvarado, Animal and Food Science, Phone 742-1475

Office Coordinator: Patty Gisch, 742-3656, Faculty.Senate@ttu.edu

For more information on the Faculty Senate visit our webpage: http.www.ttu.edu/~senate